Five years abroad

This time five years ago in 2008 I came to Canada for the second time in my life.

My first visit to Canada was back in 1998. It was exactly 10 years ago! And here I am again, this time on the West coast.

So it was cold November of 2008. Well, for local people it was cold, but not for me! Back home, in my home city Ulan-Ude, it was already pretty much everything covered with snow.

It’s weird to think that it was five years ago, because I still remember my thoughts and what I had felt back then, when I arrived to the country all by myself. I didn’t know what to expect, didn’t know what the future holds for me.

I fell in love with the humid air and nature – trees and grass were still green. Beautiful nature and friendly people are the first things that you notice upon arrival.

In my province/state Republic Buryatia we have gorgeous pine and fir trees, steppe and humid air around lake Baikal area.

 These pictures are not mine, but they are so beautiful.

Canadian nature is so similar to it, due to the same latitude, I believe. Which at that time reminded me about home and I thought ”I can live here!”

P1090529

That was an amazing journey since that very first day. I’ve immigrated, I’ve changed a bit, and I’ve met so many awesome people along the way. They are from different countries and I’m glad I had a chance to meet them here in Vancouver.

I wouldn’t say that five years is a long time to understand Canadian culture, traditions and habits. It’s not. I’m still adapting, still polishing my English and sometimes trying to recollect my French. I still don’t have much of an idea about culture and the way of living in other provinces of Canada. That needs to be fixed, I should travel more..

OHhh! that makes me want to go travel to my Mother Russia! Because I actually haven’t travelled in Russia much, just to close provinces and to Moscow. It would be just amazing to take Trans-Siberian railway, starting from St. Petersburg through Siberian cities and my city Ulan-Ude to Vladivostok. I’d love to stop for couple of days in different cities to visit my friends on the way to Vladivostok … ah, that’d be awesome!!

Anyway, the point is  – time flies so fast!

But it has been a great five years.

Take a look at this great article on Simple Vancouver, explaining what makes Vancouver living so unique and different compared specifically to Eastern European culture.

There are some interesting observations and I agree with some of it, noticing that I still have much of post-Soviet upbringing and education. And slowly, with time, that is changing.

Leave a Reply

